top of page

Aces Place - November 13th 2014

Jack Henry

There is a new restaurant that opened up a few months ago in the Guildwood Plaza about right across from the Guildwood library. This restaurant is called Aces Place. Aces is a nice cozy place with great atmosphere. I have only been there twice.

The first time I went it was in September in the middle of the week. The place was packed, when we went in we couldn't even see a table. The service was great, within a few minutes of sitting down someone greeted us and took orders for drinks and food. I had a hard time choosing between the Caesar Salad and Poutine, I ended up ordering the Caesar Salad and Onion Rings. The Caesar Salad was amazing, definitely in my top 3 and the Onion Rings were great. Over all I had a great experience for my first visit.

After my first visit I was eager to go back and this past Thursday, the 13th, I finally got that chance. I was eager to try the Poutine instead! The second visit was quite different experience. The dining room was maybe 30 percent full. My group sat at our table for a good ten minutes without anyone approaching us and asking if we wanted anything to drink. At one point a staff member walked by, made eye contact with the table and kept walking without saying anything to us. In all fairness he could have gone to get someone to serve us but we didn't stay long enough to find out. We left and went up to the Boston Pizza up at Morningside and the 401 where we had a great experience, it was a little further away but it was worth it.

That being said I am willing to try again because I think that Aces has the potential to be a great community restaurant and pub and who knows, maybe the third time’s the charm!

Have an Aces Place experience you want to share? Email us at guildwoodian@gmail.com. We may feature your story in our new editorials section “Our Readers Write

Editors Note: This article is an opinion piece

bottom of page